Hódmezővàsàrhely Geared up to Host European Junior Championships

Posted on July 05, 2016

Nearly 750 swimmers from forty-seven countries will be in Hódmezővàsàrhely, Hungary, to compete in the European Junior Championships. Britain will see a contingent of 26 swimmers contending for medals, the largest team in recent years.

European Games champions Abbie Wood and Holly Hibbott will head up the team who are both targeting the Tokyo Olympics in 2020. British Swimming Head of Performance Pathway, Tim Jones, will be looking to see the level of progress saying "We're looking to be able to identify a group of talented junior athletes that we can take with us in the coming years to senior success".

The opening ceremony takes place tomorrow, Wednesday 6th July, and the event will rub through to Sunday 10th July. Big screens have been positioned in the main square and on the beach to allow locals and tourists alike to follow all the action. And with entrance to the event being free of charge the atmosphere should be electric.

Everyone here at the BSCA wishes all competitors and their coaches good luck for the Championships and look forward to watching you all in action! Live streaming of the event can be found via: http://www.len.eu/?p=5875

British Swimmers Competing in Hódmezővàsàrhely and their coaches:

Abbie Wood – National Centre, Loughborough Kevin Renshaw / Dave Hemmings
Alex Wray - Deepings Lynn Chapman
Amelia Clynes – City of Leeds Richard Denigan
Anna Maine – Woking Vince Ayling
Brodie Williams – Millfield Euan Dale
Ciara Schlosshan – City of Leeds Richard Denigan
Craig McLean – University of Stirling Steven Tigg
David Murphy – City of Oxford Amanda Booth
Edward Baxter – Cockermouth Sean Balmer
Elliot Clogg – City of Sheffield Mike Taylor
Emily Large – Newcastle Swim Team Ryan Livingstone
Emma Cain – Millfield Euan Dale
Freya Anderson – Ellesmere College Titans Alan Bircher
Hannah Featherstone – Sedgefield and District John Moore
Holly Hibbott – Southport / Stockport Metro Sean Kelly
Isobel Griffiths – City of Birmingham Carl Grosvenor
Jamie O'Connor – Thanet Dan Cross
Joe Litchfield – Doncaster DARTES Andrew Wallace
Laura Stephens – Plymouth Leander Jon Rudd / Robin Armayan
Layla Black – City of Leeds Richard Denigan
Lewis Clough – City of Salford John Stout
Nathan Hughes – Hatfield Janko Gojkovic
Ryan Brown – City of Glasgow Ian Wright
Tazmin Pugh – Ellesmere College Titans Alan Bircher
Thomas Fannon – Plymouth Leander Jon Rudd
Tom Derbyshire – Royal Wolverhampton School Marc Spackman
comments powered by Disqus

Back to news