GB Paralympic Team Announced

Posted on May 19, 2016

31 swimmers will be representing Great Britain at the Paralympics in Rio it was announced on Monday.

Ellie Simmonds, Ollie Hynd, Jon Fox, Jessica-Jane Applegate, Josef Craig and Bethany Firth are all experienced Olympians having won gold medals at the London 2012 games. In total, 20 of the 31 swimmers have previously competed at a Paralympic event. For Sascha Kindred this will be his sixth appearance, selected after a finishing time within 2% of the required standard and will be looking to add to his already impressive haul of six gold medals.

Abby Kane is the team’s youngest member. At just 12 years old Abby holds the British record of 1.11.19 in the S13 100m backstroke, set at the Para-Swimming trials.

Our congratulations go out to all the swimmers and their coaches and wish you all the best later this year. We will be cheering you on from the stands at home and in Rio.

The full list of swimmers and their coaches are:

Aaron Moores Adam Baker / Stuart McNarry
Abby Kane Sharon McIntyre
Alice Tai Rob Greenwood
Amy Marren Gary Rogers
Andrew Mullen Graeme Smith
Bethany Firth Nelson Lindsay
Charlotte Henshaw Glenn Smith
Claire Cashmore Rob Greenwood
Ellie Robinson Andy Sharpe
Ellie Simmonds Rob Greenwood
Hannah Russell Mark Rose
Harriet Lee Rob Greenwood
James Crisp Russ Barber
Jessica-Jane Applegate Alex Pinniger
Jonathan Booth Mark Lappin
Jonathan Fox Graeme Smith
Josef Craig Danny Thompson
Lewis White Mel Marshall
Matt Wylie Danny Thompson
Michael Jones Rob Greenwood
Ollie Hynd Glenn Smith
Rebecca Redfern Mark Stowe
Ryan Crouch Self-Coached
Sascha Kindred Emma Patrick
Scott Quin Kris Gilchrist
Steph Millward Graeme Smith
Stephanie Slater Rob Greenwood
Stephen Clegg Bruce Halloran
Susie Rogers Tony Beckley
Tom Hamer Graeme Smith
Tully Kearney Graeme Smith
comments powered by Disqus

Back to news